Skip to Main Content

Conflict and Perspective Reading Guide: Databases

ABC-CLIO Database Trial

We currently conducting a trial for Science Online - ends May 30th, 2019

ISB Subscription Databases

	Student & Teacher Access Students and teachers with an ISB Gmail account can access the individual database passwords.
	Community Access If you do not have ISB Gmail account please contact the Main Library for the password or check the ISB Parent Portal page - Main Library.
	Britannica School Explore an updated online Encyclopedia for articles, biographies, videos, images and web resources.
	Digital Theater + The world’s leading digital platform for the arts. Watch the worlds’ finest theatre productions anywhere, anytime.
	EBSCO Provider of research of databases, e-journals, magazine subscription, ebooks and discovery service for academic libraries.
	EXPLORA Offers full-text, academic content on a variety of subjects - an excellent match for in-depth studies. Includes citations and translations.
	JSTOR More than 1,000 academic journals, and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
	Source Reference (Infobase) Hundreds of full-text reference titles, thousands of images and videos including access to our Research Skill Builder materials,
	Bloom’s Literature (Infobase) Bloom’s Literature offers a comprehensive resource for the study of literature.
	Health Reference Center (Infobase) Health Reference Center includes comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures.
	Issues & Controversies (Infobase) Understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format.
	Modern World History (Infobase) Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present.
	Science Online (Infobase) With a wealth of content and a dynamic design that facilitates STEM research and learning, the award-winning Science Online offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines.
	Today’s Science (Infobase) (Free Trial for the year - login access coming soon) Today’s Science bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveries by leading scientists.
	World Geography and Culture Online (Infobase) World Geography and Culture is the definitive resource for researching the world’s countries and geography.
	Newsbank Newsbank is a database that specializes in news resources, including both archived sources and up to date news stories.

Magazines and Newspapers Online

	Newsela Create an account and read news stories that are leveled by Lexile
	The Economist The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.
	TIME Breaking news and analysis. Politics, world news, photos, video, tech reviews, health, science, and entertainment news
	The New York Times The New York Times, Business, Sports of The Times, Arts, Science, Styles, Home, Travel, and other features.

Free Databases by Subject

GENERAL

Base Search -Bielefeld University Library)
Directory of Open Access Journals - A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.
JURN - Open access to millions of journals, articles, and theses.
Indiana University and Purdue Research Database

ECONOMICS

National Bureau of Economic Research
RePEc - Research Papers in Economics is a free and open source database of economics papers and research.

FILM

AMC Filmsite
TV Tropes - A resource to look at what the Film and TV Tropes are for stereotypical roles in cinema and TV
BBC - Genre Episodes
Documentary Storm - Provides free documentaries in a number of categories

HEALTH

MedlinePlus - U.S. National Library of Medicine.
PubMed Central (PMC) - Is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
PubPsych - Psychology database of open access journals.
CogPrints - An electronic archive for Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, and Anthropology.

SCIENCE

WorldWide Science - Global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals.
SciElo - Open access to international science papers and research.
Analytical Digital Sciences Library
Student Science - Award-winning magazine and database of current topics, trends, and research in the scientific fields.

Bilingual Glossaries

Over 10 languages with glossaries for ES, MS and HS focusing on Math, Science and Social Studies.

International School Bangkok Main Library 39/7 Soi Nichada Thani, Soi Samakee Pakkret, Nonthaburi, Bangkok, Thailand 11120