Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Conflict and Perspective Reading Guide: Home

Research eNotes

Malcom Gladwell Explains Research

Research Process and Citations

Creating Citations or Works Cited Page?

  1. If you are using any of the databases offered at ISB, you can copy the citation from the database (remember we use MLA 8 at ISB). 
  2. You can create your own Research eNotes to capture your resources, ideas, quotes, and citations by clicking here.

 

Works Cited: A Quick Guide

MLA Handbook. 8th ed., New York, Modern Language Association of America, 2016.

Guided Inquiry Process for Effective Researching

Open - Review Assignment. Introduction of the general topic to stimulate curiosity and engage inquiry.  Ideas, themes, questions, problems or concepts related to the subject.  (Prewrite)

Immerse - Connect with content and discover interesting ideas to explore further. What seems particularly interesting, curious, surprising or troubling?  Reflect on ideas that matter to you and are worth further investigation. (Prewrite)

Explore - Survey a wide variety of sources, read when you find something interesting, explore ideas. Browse and scan a variety of sources and prepare to develop your inquiry questions. (Skim and Scan) (Prewrite)

Identify - Students are ready to identify a question for their inquiry because of the time spent immersing and exploring in order to build enough background knowledge to ask a meaningful question. Construct an inquiry question from the ideas, pressing problems, and emerging themes you have explored in various sources of information. Form a focus and draft a question.

Gather - A question gives direction to collect detailed information from a variety of sources. Locate, evaluate, and use information. "Go broad" to find a range of sources that are useful and "dig deep" and choose a core of the most useful sources to read closely as you find connections and gain personal understanding. (Close Reading) (Prewrite)

Create - By this stage, you have gathered enough information to construct your own understanding, you are now ready to organize your learning. What is important about the subject? Construct your own understanding, summarize, interpret, and extend meaning.  Integrate your own ideas more firmly into deep understanding. (Close Reading) (Write and Revise)

Share - Students share the product they have created to show what they have learned. (Publish)

 

Evaluate - This occurs at the end when evaluation of the achievement of your learning goals takes place. Students reflect on their content learning and progress through the inquiry process. Self-reflection reinforces content learning and establishes good habits for learning how to learn through the inquiry process.

Guided Inquiry Design® Framework. 2020, guidedinquirydesign.com/gid/. Accessed 22 Oct. 2020.

Suggested Databases

Databases provided by ISB Main Library

 Student & Teacher Access

 Students and Teachers can Click this link to access database passwords offsite.

 EBSCO 

  Provider of research of databases, journals, magazine subscriptions, and ebooks.

 

 EXPLORA

  Offers full-text, academic content on a variety of subjects 

 JSTOR

  Academic journals, and over one million images, letters, and primary sources.

 Issues & Controversies

  Explore hundreds of hot topics

 Newsbank

  A database that specializes in news resources, including up-to-date news stories.

 Newsela

  Create an account and read news stories that are leveled by Lexile

 

 

Sites for unique research and data