Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Imperialism: Home

Trial Databases

We have a THREE week Trial on a number of Modules through ABC-CLIO  - Link to Database Page
Please review these for your project! 
American History, United States Geography, World History (The Modern Era), World History (Ancient & Medieval Eras), World at War (Understanding Conflict and Society), World Geography (understanding a changing world)

RESEARCH PROCESS

STEP ONE

1) How are you going to Collect and Organize your Information?

Data Collection Chart

STEP TWO

KEYWORDS/PHRASES: Imperialism, Colonialism, British Empire, British Raj 

OR BOOLEAN Searches (AND, OR, NOT):

India AND "British Raj", India AND "British Empire" India AND Colonialism etc.

2) Where are you going to find information?

Background Information

  • Encyclopedia Britannica

TIP:  Type in the country name eg. Kenya, on the left-hand side column, click on History, scroll down until you find information on colonization etc.

  • ABC-CLIO (Use one or multiple modules to find background information)

In-depth Information

  • Links to articles included in this guide
  • EBSCO
  • JSTOR
  • Books
  • Google Scholar

STEP THREE

3) How are you going to cite information?

  • If the database has the citation information already - copy and past it!
    • Enc. Britannica, EBSCO, JSTOR have citations in MLA format 
  • OR check out the citation CITATION page for help

STEP FOUR

4) Where can you find help on how to paraphrase?

GREAT BRITAIN

GREAT BRITAIN & BURMA

Canadian Friends of Burma

Britain's brutal record of imperialism in Burma

Burma & mineral resources

The British Colonial Period

How a Nation Is Exploited – The British Empire in Burma -1929

 

GREAT BRITAIN & CHINA

 

Harvard's Digital China

Opium Timeline

Small Planet - Spheres of Influence

Victorian Web- The Opium Wars

Columbia University - China & The West

China and the West - Internet Sourcebook

The Treaty of Nanking 1842

Primary source - Treaty of Nanjing

PBS - Opium Timeline

US Library of Congress - China
 

 

GREAT BRITAIN & EGYPT

 

Why GB Acquired Egypt in 1882

Britain, Egypt and the Suez Canal

The British Empire - Egypt

Why Britain Acquired Egypt

US Library of Congress - Egypt

 


GREAT BRITAIN & INDIA

 

UCLA: British India

South Asian History: From Trade to Colonialism

South Asian History: British Education policy in India

The Mutiny of 1857

India under the British - Internet Sourcebook

The Atlantic - 1857

BBC - Sepoy Rebellion

Kamat's Potpourri

The Economic and Social Impact of Colonial Rule in India

US Library of Congress - Country Study

 

GREAT BRITAIN & KENYA

African History Sourcebook

Smithsonian: African Voices

History World net Kenya

Maps of the World ‚Äč

GREAT BRITAIN & MALAYSIA

A Brief History of Malaysia

From Tin Town to Tower City

Malaysia Tourism

Things Asian

European Colonization in SE Asia

The Malayan Emergency

The Malayan Emergency (1948-1960)

Aftermath of the Emergency

US Country Study - Singapore

Overseas Chinese in Malaysia

 

GREAT BRITAIN & NIGERIA

 

African History Sourcebook

Smithsonian: African Voices

Nigeria - the Imperial Archive

Central Oregon Community College - African History Links

Nigeria - Library of Congress

BBC Nigeria Timeline

Origins of the Niger Mission

History of Nigeria

Nigeria - Colonial Economy 1860 - 1960

Media

BELGIUM, DUTCH, FRANCE, JAPAN

BELGIUM & CONGO

Positive Aspects of Colonial Rule

Longer Sources with Benefits of colonial rule

Religious Tolerance .Org

Africa: Belgian Colonies

NationMaster - Congo Free State

Brief History of Colonization of the Congo

Smithsonian: African Voices

African History Sourcebook

Central Oregon Community College: African History Links

WWW Virtual Library

The Atlantic- Excepts from the Journal of Henry Stanley

World Socialist Website

Genocide Studies - Yale

The Butcher of Congo

BBC - see links on the side

Africa - Internet Sourcebook

Africa: A Voyage of Discovery with Basil Davidson

 
DUTCH & INDONESIA
 

Asian Info.org - Indonesia Colonial History

Timeline of Indonesian History

Dutch East Indies - Photos

US Library of Congress Country Studies:  The Dutch in Indonesia

Beck: Indonesia and the Dutch 1800-1950

The VOC

Dutch and Indonesian


DUTCH/GREAT BRITAIN & SOUTH AFRICA

 

BBC Story of Africa

BBC - Timeline for South Africa Colonization

South African Travel Bureau's view of colonial history

Central Oregon Community College

Smithsonian: African Voices

African History Sourcebook

Dutch and British in South Africa

 

FRANCE & ALGERIA

 

"Imperialism In North Africa"

"The French in West Africa"

"Justification of French Colonialism

"The French in West Africa-UPenn"

"Arabization" US Country Studies

Library of Congress - Algeria

 

FRANCE & VIETNAM/LAOS/CAMBODIA

 

US Library of Congress - Vietnam

Jules Ferry, Speech Before the French Chamber of Deputies (1884)

BBC - End of French - Vietnam War
FRENCH COLONIALISM IN VIETNAM

The lessons of colonialism

 

JAPAN & CHINA

BBC - Japanese Expansion

Japanese militarism and expansion

Comparative Chart on Japanese War History

BBC - Long term effects China-Japan Relations

Flags of the World

BBC - Nanjing Massacre

Nanjing Massacre

Greater East Asian Co-Prosperity Sphere -

Japan Times - Sex Slavery

Tokyo Governor denies massacre 2012

Textbook  Accounts of Sino-Japanese War including "Rape of Nanjing"

Video - Japanese invasion 1937 - China in Revolution 6/10

Kita Ikki document  

Manchurian Incident Textbook samples

Manchuria Documents & Analysis

 

JAPAN & KOREA

Asian Times - Collaboration

The Independent - Comfort Women

Comfort Women.Org - photos

Comfort Women - Religious Tolerance.org

Japanese Textbook Controversy

Annexation of Korea

Life in Korea

Library of Congress Country Study

Economic History.Net

March 1st Uprising

Primary Sources - Japan Rule in Korea

Japan apologizes to Korea August 2010

'The Dragon and the Foreign Devils' 2 pages covers the main motives For Japanese invasion of Manchuria.

 

GENERAL INFORMATION

 

CIA Factbook

NationMaster

Maps & Chronologies -George Mason University

Library of Congress Country Studies

World History Archives

WWW Virtual Library

Info Please Encyclopedia

19th Century Documents

The History Place - Irish Potato Famine

Imperialism Statistics

Industrialization and Western Imperialism

Imperialism - Internet Souce book

 

http://www.ushistory.org/us/44b.asp